Pippa Alice

A little craft diary

ATP 6 January, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — pippaalice @ 5:22 pm

I did go to ATP! Belle and Sebastian have been one of my favourite bands for ages and I was far too poor for Bowlie 1 so when I had the chance to go to Bowlie 2 I had to go.

Here is a slightly over-enthusiastic review:

(Please note that there are some less than safe for work images (Of Cynthia Plaster Caster with several of her art objects…) after the cut.)

On Friday morning I met up with Tim, Stephanie, Kevan and Jo in various parts of London and Tim drove us using his driving skills. We got there in the late afternoon on Friday and shoved our stuff in the chalet and we went to see some bands:

First up Gavin Osborn and Daniel Kitson did their love story/song thing. I missed the beginning but it was still lovely as per usual. I usually have a bit of a problem with this ‘love is all things’ stuff especially when it has putting girls on a pedestal involved but DK does it really well.

Best Cost were pretty boring but also quite nice and calm to watch. In general: Meh.

Watched a very tiny bit of teenage fanclub, it was, um, very indie. Lots of people I know liked them and looked happy which was nice.

Also saw a very tiny bit of The Zombies. They played a song I knew. I nodded along like an indie londoner and then had dinner of CHIPS!

St Et were very good even if they were late and Sarah forgot the words. Her dancing was a bit weird to start with but then she relaxed and I did a little dance. I think we then went back to Rick and Kat’s chalet and ate popcorn. I got an early night because I wanted to be chipper for the morning.

Saturday I got ready whilst listening to B&S sound check. ARGH! EXCITEMENT! ARGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Went to Tescos and then saw Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan. I believe I am entirely alone in going, Meh. I don’t think their voices work together. I’ve never been mega keen on gruff voices.

I saw a bit of Frightened Rabit. I think I really like them and want to see them again.

Then Edwyn Collins. I’ve never really liked to songs of his I’ve heard so I wasn’t expecting much however it was 100% amazing. Probably my second highlight of the festival. It was just a really happy indie jam session. Alex K joined them on stage and the backing band was the Teenage fan club. I loved it. And EC’s voice is gorgeous. Hurrah!

In contrast I was looking forward to Julian Cope, I know he is a bit introspective but he’s amazing and weird and clever and awesome. However live he was a bit boring after a while. I only needed 30 mins of it really.

I saw a tiny tiny bit of Dean Wareham. I don’t think I saw enough to have a full opinion. Lots of people I know like him. I’d never heard of him at all.

Then I saw Cynthia Plaster Caster do a talk. She was incredibly nervous and she seemed a bit confused by it all but when talking about her dicks she was very much alive. (Which is a bit odd I suppose) I have some awesome pictures of her holding Noel Redding and Jimi Hendrix’s cocks looking really animated. I have put the pics after the review to stop people being too scared.

THEN it was BELLE AND SEBASTIAN. I don’t think I can even do a review. I am so insanely happy that I got to see them. My life rocks. I even ended up buying a dog on wheels brooch even though I can’t afford it as a memory. ARGH! Seriously amazing.

I am not really sure what happened after. Possibly more Rick and Kat chalet? Was this when the popcorn happened? Ah I haven’t a clue. I was drunk.

There was some indie discoing which tbh sucked for me because I am always getting punches in the back when dancing and apart from my friends and some people dressed as furbies people seemed to be actually attempting to be arseholes. Joy.

Crystal Castles were right up my street but as I had no earplugs my ears started feeling as if they were about to bleed. I retired about 2ish. Must try harder.

Sunday I wandered around. I wanted to see Sons and Daughters and Camera Obscura. What I actually did was, visit Kat and Rick, drink cider and tea. Eat bloody awesome chilli and watch the x factor final. I also did some singstar. For some reason I didn’t suck. I have no idea how this happened.

Here are some pictures (WARNING! CONTAINS PLASTER PENIS PICTURES AFTER THE CUT):

 

Leave a Reply

